Sugar Journal Sugar Notable Honors

On July 20 2024 the staff of Sugar Journal will celebrate the winners of the 2024 Sugar Notables. “We have so many outstanding individuals in our sugar industry that have done so much to improve and move the industry forward, that we felt we should celebrate the ‘best of the best’ that were selected,” said Romney Richard, publisher and editor of Sugar Journal.

Nominations were opened last year and the criteria was – length of service to industry, success in their career, contributions to the betterment of the industry in a documented way, involvement in industry organizations / activities, and demonstrated leadership characteristics. Those who wanted to nominate someone could do so on the website After the nominations were in, a panel of industry leaders helped to pick the winners of each category.

Since the industry is split into different segments, there are were six categories identified. The winners are as follows:

Sugar Cane Grower – John Gay, Louisiana

Sugar Beet Grower – Duane Grant, Idaho

Raw Sugar Processor – Manuel Enriquez Poy, Mexico

Cane Sugar Refiner – Larry Faucheaux, Louisiana

Beet Sugar Processor – Dave Braseth, Minnesota

Scientific Researcher – Philippe Rott, Florida and France

Supplier Researcher – Jesse Lopez, Louisiana

A fabulous dinner celebration at Antoine’s Restaurant will be the stage to honor these Sugar Notables. The menu will be included on and wines provided by Bizou Wines Importer and Distributor. The costs for a 4-course meal with wine/tax/tip included is $225 per person.

Where: Antoine’s Restaurant, 713 St. Louis St., NOLA

When: July 20 @ 6PM

Hosts: Romney & Charley Richard

Contact: Romney Richard