Sanjay Awasthi elected ISSCT Chair

The XXXI Congress of the International Society of Sugar Cane Technologists (ISSCT) in Hyderabad (India) ended on 23 February with a farewell dinner. Over the four days of the conference more than 190 papers and posters were presented to the delegates from 28 countries in the Hyderabad Convention Center.

During the conference the ISSCT Council reelected five members of ISSCT Executive,

Sanjay Awasthi (India), Monalisa Sampaio Carneiro (Brazil), Juan Carlos Mirande (Argentina), Abdess Salem Saumtally (Mauritius) and Sopon Uraichuen (Thailand). Along with older members Raul Oswaldo Castillo Torres (Ecuador/outgoing Chair), François Régis Goebel, (France), Bernard Siegmund (Reunion) and Nicolas Javier Gil Zapata (Colombia), they form the ISSCT Executive for 2023-2025. In its first meeting, the ISSCT Executive elected Sanjay Awasthi, CEO of ISGEC, as new Chair and Nicolas Javier as Vice-Chair.

During the farewell dinner, ISSCT announced that the centenary XXXII ISSCT Congress will take place from 25 to 28 August 2025 in Cali, Colombia.

Picture L to R: B. Siegmund, N. Gil, M. Carneiro, F. Goebel, R. Castillo, S. Awasthi, J. Mirande, A. Saumtally, S. Uraichuen.

Keywords: ISSCT
Jürgen Bruhns24.02.2023